CTSA Schools

Central Tibetan Schools Administration (CTSA)

At the request of H.H the Dalai Lama, the Government of India, in 1961, established the Tibetan Schools Society (now called Central Tibetan Schools Administration), an autonomous body regulated by the Indian Ministry of Human Resource Development, to manage and assist schools in India for the educ



ation of the children of Tibetan refugees.

The Governing Body of the Central Tibetan Schools Administration (CTSA), which is its main administrative authority is chaired by the Joint Secretary of the Ministry of Human Resource Development, GOI. Its members consists of four Indians (two representatives of the Ministry of External Affairs; one representative of the Ministry of Home Affairs; a

nd the Secretary of CTSA) and four Tibetans (Education Minister, Education Secretary, the Representative at the Bureau of His Holiness

The Dalai Lama, New Delhi; and the Director of the Central Institute of Higher Tibetan Studies, Varanasi).

There are 28 CTSA schools whose enrolment is currently 9,991 students. Six of these schools (CST Mussoorie; CST Shimla; CST Dalhousie; CST Darjeeling, CST, Mundgod and CST Kalimpong) that in addition to day scholars provide hostel and boarding facilities to a total of about 1,700 students are known as residential schools. The remaining 22 schools that do not have such facilities are known as day schools. All services in the day schools are provided free of cost. The CTSA also provides full school fees for about 360 boarders in the residential schools; school fees for the remaining 1,350 boarders are paid through the DOE. In addition, the CTSA also runs 45 Pre-Primary schools.

List of CTSA Schools

S.NO. Name of Schools
1 CST Chowkur
 2 CST Mundgod, Branch I
 3 CST Mundgod, Camp # 6
 4 CST Mundgod
 5 CST Bylakuppe
 6  CST CVP Bylakuppe
 7  CST Golledhala
 8  CST Kailashpura
 9  CST Arlikumari
 10  CST Gurupura
 11  CST Kollegal
 12  CST Lobersing
 13  CST Mahendragada
 14  CST Chandragiri
 15  CST Darjeeling
 16  CST Sonada
 17  CST Kalimpong
 18  CST Ravangla
 19  CST Miao
 20  CST Tenzingaon
 21  CST Tezu
 22  CST Mainpat
 23  CST Bhandara
 24  CST Dholanji
 25  CST Dalhousie
 26  CST Shimla
 27  CST Herbertpur
 28  CST Mussoorie
 29  CST Chauntra
 30  CST Paonta Sahib